1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.


What Is the Pentateuch?


The Pentateuch
Bill Fairchild

The Pentateuch refers to the first five books of the Bible (Genesis - Deuteronomy). For the most part, both Jewish and Christian tradition credit Moses with primary authorship of the Pentateuch. These five books form the theological foundation of the Bible.

The word pentateuch means "five vessels," "five containers," or "five-volumed book." In Hebrew the Pentateuch is Torah, meaning "the law" or "instruction." Another name for the Pentateuch is "the five books of Moses."

The books of the Pentateuch introduce Bible readers to God's divine purposes and plans, and explain how sin entered the world. In the Pentateuch we also see God's response to sin, his relationship with mankind, and we gain insight into the character and nature of God.

Books of the Pentateuch

Pronunciation: PEN tuh tük

More About the Books of the Bible

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.